Standing outside the fire?

by de

Life is not tried it is merely survived if you are standing outside the fire

Last year, for my birthday, my mum bought me a gift voucher. An adrenalin gift voucher. An adrenalin gift voucher to climb the Story Bridge. Really mum? Really? At the time I had no idea that I actually really didn’t like the story bridge, but I did know that I am scared shitless of heights. I put it off and I put it off… I put it off so long that it had to be extended so that I could actually still redeem my voucher. However! Today I climbed the Story Bridge. It was great! I’m not going to say that I don’t know what I was worried about, because I know exactly what I was worried about, but it was all good!

20130217-141316.jpg

Being afraid of heights is something that has bothered me for quite a while,

The Story Bridge bothers me, ever since I started running across it in April last year, it just scares me. People jump off the Story Bridge to end their lives. It’s that simple. I am pretty sure that there is a Media ban in place, so it’s not reported on, but *I* know that it happens… It happens.. It’s always scared the crapper out of me.

They don’t place these phones all over the place for nothing…

20130217-141342.jpg

They also don’t have gates like this for not reason..

20130217-141334.jpg

Running along here has always given me the hee-bie-geebies….

20130217-141324.jpg

I run as close to the centre of the path as I can.. It is completely illogical and there is no reason for me to think like I do, but I am scared that someone will appear from nowhere and knee’s-up me straight over the side of the bridge. Seriously. Yes.. illogical and I am working through it.. but it’s how I feel… and it’s a pretty long stretch… and there are all the life-line signs.. and phones… and.. and…

And, anyway. I did the climb. I actually went and did it. All by myself. I was in a group, of course and the guide, a beautiful young lady named Erin was really lovely and clearly enjoyed her job. So it’s all done now. It wasn’t as bad as I thought that it would be and I did have a really good time!

So, this got me to thinking about standing outside the fire. In my last post I breifly touched on the fact that I want to move house. Like I really, really, REALLY want to move house. Alot. So, I have made up my mind to just go. The real estate agent has put pressure on me to sign another 6 month lease and I just don’t think I can do that. I found a house in an area that I really want to live in. So I’ve put in an application. I’m now in that horrible place where you wait and see if you have favor with the land-lord gods.

20130217-141258.jpg

Have I mentioned that I love this city?

20130217-141307.jpg

I love this city!!

