Time for Change.

by de

Now it’s time for change, nothing stays the same, Now it’s time for change.

After reading the Awesome Kate Beck’s latest couple of blog posts yesterday I left for work a little teary. I’ve felt a little so since coming home from Melbourne. Not quite up, not quite down, I’ve said it before and I don’t mind saying it again…. what goes up has got to come down. I knew this, I’ve been prepared, It hasn’t come as a massive surprise this time as it has before. Still, I was having one of those days. I went to work, got changed, started work, someone said something to me that I didn’t like.

Tears.

Went home.

It really was the best thing for me. I can’t stand it when I’m upset at work, it’s hard enough in a normal situation, but when it’s ‘just’ all men, it’s intolerable. So I went home. I mowed the lawn, cleaned the house and generally did a few things that have been annoying me for ages. I drank beer and I called my mum. (not necessarily in that order) Then I rejoined the 12wbt. I missed Rd3 as I was training for the marathon and that was my main focus. I always planned to rejoin for Rd 4 to complete L&S. Ahhhh, signing into the site and getting my first Pre-season task Get Real couldn’t have come at a better time for me. I really need to get fucking real at the moment.

Things haven’t been right for a while, it’s insidious, starts out with a bit of this and a bit of that and before you know what happened all your best laid plans and habits are out the window. You blow off training, you eat what you want… Well, not so much with the blowing off of training and when you are running a marathon you pretty much ‘can’ eat what you want, so it’s been a slow and steady decline. It’s also easier to drink in summer, actually I find it hard to imagine a summer without a cold beer in the afternoon or a glass of bubbly, would it be the same? Yep, I’m sure that the sun would still rise in the east and set in the west….

I have also had one mother of a wake-up call with a close friend. You know the sort where you suddenly look around and think, shit this really sucks, is one sided and quite frankly, you are a rude and selfish individual. Yep. Get out of my life. The END!!

See this? That’s my back, get used to it.

As is usually the case with this sort of thing, I am now focused, I know what I need to do, I know how I’m going to go do it.

It’s all about me.

Just watch me!

Kthksbai

