Good Riddance

by de

‘Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go’

 

You may have noticed, many of my posts are associated with music. I love how music can really speak to you, knows how you are feeling, can be uplifting or not… (I hate those songs that should have been sold with a razor blade.. seriously, cheer up buttercup!)

This song, however is MY song. It’s a shame that it was associated with the ending of a popular TV series when it was released and subsequently FLOGGED on commercial radio. Hate. Hate. Hate that.

The first time that I heard it, I was driving down Spencer Rd in Thornlie WA. I was driving my partners massive big Ford XC and I had just busted the fourth door handle (those of you old enough to be familiar with the make/model will probably also know how notorious they were for busted door handles and what an absolute mongrel they were to replace, not to mention pricey.. about $40 each!!) So I knew that I wasn’t going to be the most popular young wife on our street tonight. It was one of those first days in spring when it really starts to heat up, I had all the windows down and the radio turned up. I had long hair that was blowing all over the place and a short denim skirt on. Life was pretty good…. It was spring, I was in love… what more can a young girl want?

How about a baby?

Ooooooooppps! Not exactly in the plan. Life was about to change drastically….

Seinfield had just finished on TV, the aforementioned sun was shining, birds singing etc etc. Good Riddance (Time of your life) was played on the radio for the very first time. Never before has a song ‘talked’ to me like that. If you watch the film clip,  and I just know that you are going to now that you have gone to the trouble of reading this far it is all about this moment that just hits you in the face, like a lightbulb moment. I didn’t see the film-clip until fairly recently (I’m not really a film-clip sort of person) and it blew me away that it was exactly how i thought it would be.

So, yeah, yeah, I know what you are thinking, whatever, the song played… blah… blah. That’s the thing. This song is like my personal anthem. When the song plays, I know things are changing. Sometimes it can be really comforting, like the time when I was working at a local cafe and despising every moment of it, waiting on a phone call about my current job… The song played, got the phone call to say that I had the job within the hour… Driving in my car (again?) thinking about giving up smoking… song plays… job done. Then there are other times when I just put my hands in the air and think ‘What is it about now?’ and it’s not always ‘about’ something, it’s not every time that I hear it just sometimes, it’s there like a guardian.. letting me know that whatever it is, it’s time for change and it’s definitely going to be for the best.

 

