The Gold Coast Airport Marathon.

by de

Well, I did say that I was going to have a fantastic weekend. It is safe to say that I wasn’t far off the mark.

Good Lord!

The weekend looked to be off to a rough start when my boss decided to call a staff meeting last thing on Friday afternoon. What the? I was determined  to not let it have a negative impact on my mood which worked well as when I finally did get away it only took me an hour and a half from my house straight to the Hilton. This was when things took a turn for the (much, much) better.

My room was upgraded. Overwhelmingly so! I couldn’t believe my luck! I went from having a reasonable hotel room to a full apartment! A residence if you will dahrlings! I was so excited when I opened the door and went inside I actually squealed! Then I rang my friend to tell her all about it, I will remember it as one of the most unbelievable things that has ever happened to me ever, it was just amazing!

How is the view?

I barely slept a wink on Friday night, I was just a bundle of nerves and energy. I waxed my legs, ate my dinner, watched a movie and then tossed and turned for what seemed like hours… Finally it was 4.30am and time to get up and meet my friend Nicole in the lobby. If there is one thing I could complain about over the course of the weekend, it would be the lack of shuttle bus service on the Saturday. There is nothing quite like the feeling of standing at a bus stop with hundreds of other runners waiting for a bus that is just not coming. We were FREAKING OUT!! Eventually we caught a taxi and made it just in time… Stressful!!

The run itself was quite lovely, beautiful weather, awesome scenery. There were nearly 7000 finishers in the 10km event, so it was pretty much packed for the entire run, which did get tiresome after a while. Constantly ducking and weaving also wreaked havoc on my time and I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t disappointed with 52.43 which is 3 seconds slower than my debut 10km run at Noosa earlier in the year. Never-the-less it is what it is and I didn’t let it stop me getting on with the festivities! I spent the afternoon in the heated pool and spa and went out that night, probably had a bit too much fun and felt a little more ordinary than I would have liked on Sunday for the Marathon.

I watched the marathon from a few different vantage points with my friend whose husband was running his second full marathon. It is an amazing event to watch and I was inspired by the awesome individuals out there all giving it their best. Being the massive sook that I am, there were tears in my eyes on a couple of occasions, watching the runners when they see their kids on the sideline, it really is an emotion filled event!

All up I had a fantastic weekend and am already looking forward to next year, I am just trying to work out how it was that I happened to get that upgrade and how I can make it happen again for next year!!

